Drive around the streets of Cedar Ridge and it’s easy to forget that Youngsville isn’t exactly young. While our community is new, the town itself has been around for more than a century. So much more than just a bedroom community of the greater Triangle region, Youngsville has a rich history that’s worth digging into!

A Rose by Any Other Name

Originally incorporated in 1875, the town of Youngsville was first known as Pacific. The name was changed to honor John “Jack” Youngsville, the man who donated land to the town for a railroad station. He and his brother Wiley gave additional land holdings to Pacific, too, with spots for both a Baptist and Methodist church. In gratitude, the town changed its name to honor the generosity of the brothers. It took 12 years to do so, thanks to challenges with the post office. Still, the Youngsville name remains a tribute to the men who donated the land that made up such important parts of the community.

Making An Agricultural Mark

North Carolina’s history is full of stories about corn, tobacco and other cash crops that helped spur the local economy. Youngsville is no different. After being incorporated as a town in 1875, the town grew quickly thanks to the number of cotton gins and warehouses built before the turn of the century. By 1900, Youngsville was one of the largest tobacco markets in the entire South.

History is Alive in Youngsville

The blend of modern and historical help make Youngsville an especially charming place to call home. Amidst old churches housing town artifacts and homes on the historical registrar, you can still find modern amenities and fun ways to spend your time. Stop by the Youngsville Museum of History for a more in-depth look into the town’s past, including insight into the impact that World Wars I and II had on the local community.

For further reading on Youngsville’s history, consider picking up a copy of the recently re-printed “Sketches of Youngsville and Pacific” by Lib Cheatham. Originally published for the town’s centennial celebration in 1975, it’s a detailed look into the town’s evolution. Copies can be hard to find, but recent reprintings make it especially delightful to page through.